Chief of Police

Chief Gary GreagerGary C. Creager
Chief of Police
Gary C. Creager was appointed Chief of Police for the City and County of Broomfield December 15, 2014. Chief Creager also serves as the ex-officio sheriff of Broomfield County and assumes management duties of traditional police services as well as the county detention center, emergency management, and other county-related responsibilities.

Chief Creager began his law enforcement career with the Arvada Police Department where he served for 32 years. He received his bachelor's degree in criminal justice from the University of Northern Colorado and his master's degree in the administration of justice and security from the University of Phoenix. Chief Creager is a 2005 graduate of the FBI Academy and 2010 graduate of Leadership in Police Organizations.
The Broomfield Police Department is organized into two bureaus and seven divisions. The Operations Bureau consists of the Patrol, Special Operations, and Investigations Divisions. The Support Services Bureau includes the Administration, Communications, and Detention Divisions.
Hempelmann_Enea Badge Operations Deputy Chief Michael Clement
Deputy Chief of Police
Enea Hempelmann
Operations Bureau

Deputy Chief of Police
Michael E. Clement
Support Services Bureau

The City and County of Broomfield is one of the safest communities in Colorado, and its residents have come to expect high quality police services. With this in mind, the Police Department continues to implement policing strategies consistent with the community oriented policing philosophy developed by our department during the past decade.

Broomfield Police Department's unique model of providing both municipal and county law enforcement services by one agency has created significant operational efficiencies that have contributed to a streamlined process for developing public safety police and reducing the overall rate of crime. As a result, the policing strategies developed in Broomfield continue to serve our citizens well, and Broomfield will remain a safe community for all who live, work, or visit in our community.